#Diverseathon 2.0

The second installment of Diverseathon will happen and from the 22nd to the 29th of January and I wasn’t planning to take part, because I had other books planned, but then I thought, I decide what I read, screw this, I want to do the Diverseathon. I’m an adult. I do what I want.

Then I remembered I wasn’t planning to buy books, and I have to use the books I already own, and I haven’t been good at buying diverse books up to this point, but I do have some so I will read those. I also have an audiobook app full of audiobooks. It’s a bit like Netflix, but for audiobooks, and if you’re Norwegian (and possibly Swedish?); Storytel is great.

The Diverseathon is hosted by Joce from Squibblesreads, Christina Marie from the channel Christina Marie, Monica from the channel Shemightbemonica and Simon from Savidgereads. The group book this time is The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. I won’t read it because I don’t own it and I’d be behind five other people to get it from my library.

What will I read you say? My TBR consists of four books, two books I own, and two books from Storytel.

  1. A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James. This won the Man Booker Prize in 2015. It is about the Bob Marley assassination attempt in Jamaica in 1976, the crack wars in New York in the 1980s, and a changed Jamaica in the 1990s. I don’t think Bob Marley is referred to as Bob Marley, but it’s partly about him. Marlon James is a Jamaican man himself so it’s partly an #ownvoices novel as well.
  2. Transcendent: the Year’s best transgender speculative fiction edited by K.M. Szpara. I bought this on a whim in my local comic book/fantasy/sci-fi store. It’s an anthology of short stories written by trans authors and featuring trans characters. Either the fact that the characters are trans is central to the story, or it isn’t. I very rarely read short stories, so this is very exciting to me.
  3. Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson. I’ve read another book by Woodson called Brown Girl Dreaming. It was gorgeous. This is about a lady named August, who meets a long-ago friend from Brooklyn. It sounds really fascinating. I really liked Brown Girl Dreaming and Woodson’s writing style. Jacqueline Woodson is an African-American woman and the book is about an African-American woman. I’m going to listen to this on audio, and it’s going to be great.
  4. Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher. I love Carrie Fisher, this audiobook is read by her, and I’m pretty sure I’ll cry, but I will prevail. Carrie Fisher, if you don’t know, played Princess Leia/General Organa in the Star Wars movies, and she died right around Christmas 2016. And apart from that she was a badass ambassador for mental health. Carrie Fisher had bipolar disorder and was addicted to cocaine and prescription drugs for quite a while. She has spoken openly about both. This is her memoir, based on her one-woman-show of the same name and it’s about her addiction and her bipolar disorder, and her life in general. So I’m excited, and nervous. I am not very good at reading about mental health issues, so I should be better. And I will start with Carrie Fisher.

 

So those are the books I’m reading. I’m very excited.

Leave a Reply

